Back to News

First Ascent Asset Management Named Finalist for Industry Awards

Press Release

June 15, 2018

Company Announcement

Annual awards program recognizes outstanding organizations that support financial advisor success.

Related Resources

Download PDF of Article

First Ascent Asset Management, a portfolio strategist serving financial advisors, has been named a finalist in two categories in the Fourth Annual Industry Awards.

The Awards recognize companies and organizations that provide leadership and support for financial advisor success. A record number of nominations were submitted this year—more than 600 entries were received from nearly 250 companies. An independent panel of industry experts selected the 2018 award finalists in 67 individual categories.

First Ascent has been nominated as a finalist in the TAMP and ETF strategist categories for its unique flat fee portfolios. First Ascent is the first—and only—asset manager to offer portfolios for a flat $500 per account or $1,000 per household.

“We are honored to be a finalist for the 2018 Industry Awards,” said First Ascent CEO Scott MacKillop. “The advisors we work with represent a vanguard in the industry and we’re thrilled to team up with them. Our flat fee portfolios align with their business objectives, and the simplicity of the portfolios and the simplicity of explaining pricing to clients.”

First Ascent’s Global Explorer portfolios are designed for long-term investors and incorporate a “core plus satellite” approach to constructing and managing conservative, balanced and growth-oriented portfolios. Each “core” consists of low-cost index funds or exchange-traded funds (ETFs) that provide broad exposure to global securities markets. “Satellites” consist of actively managed mutual funds, index funds or ETFs added selectively to improve portfolio performance.

The Industry Awards recognize outstanding achievement in the Wealth Management industry. Details about the 2018 Awards and the complete list of finalists can be found on’s website:

Winners will be announced on September 13, 2018 at an awards ceremony at The Ziegfeld Ballroom in New York City.